Busted Halo
googling god
The Busted Halo Question Box
Ask our spiritual experts virtually anything!
This is the place where you can ask all of those burning questions that you wouldn't dare ask in person. We will post questions here (using your byline only with permission); we guarantee an answer to everyone.

Have your own question? Then pitch it to us!

Caitlin Kennell Kim
Fr. Rick Malloy, SJ
General Questions
Fr. Tom Ryan, CSP
Ecumenical, Interfaith
Neela Kale
Culture, Moral Theology
Ann Naffziger, M.A., M.Div.
Mike Hayes
Our readers asked:

How have the seven sacraments changed over time?

Neela Kale Answers:

Q: How have the seven sacraments changed over time? Did they all start at the same time or were they added at different times of our history?

In ancient times the Latin word “sacramentum” referred to the Roman soldier’s sacred oath to the empire; after taking the oath he was branded with the insignia of his regiment and belonged to the empire until his death. Early Christians began to use this word to refer to the rituals that made them belong to Christ and to the community of the Church. References to these rituals in the New Testament include the gospel accounts of Jesus’ baptism in the Jordan and the allusion to anointing in the letter of James, among many others. Human beings have a deep need for tangible signs of God’s presence in our lives. In moments of joy, sorrow, transition, hope, suffering, commitment and so on, we need rituals that open us to the infusion of God’s grace. Early Christian communities devised rituals in response to this need, in accordance with their particular circumstances. Baptism and Eucharist were probably the earliest and most universal, but the other sacraments all have deep roots in the first centuries of Christian life. Long before modern communication made a unified practice possible, rites varied widely from place to place and time to time. It was not until the eleventh century, as a systematic approach to theology began to take hold, that some of these rituals were recognized as the sacraments that we know today. The Council of Trent in 1547 officially designated seven: baptism, confirmation, Eucharist, reconciliation, anointing of the sick, holy orders and marriage.

The Author : Neela Kale
Neela Kale is a writer and catechetical minister based in the Archdiocese of Portland. She served with the Incarnate Word Missionaries in Mexico and earned a Master of Divinity at the Jesuit School of Theology. Some of her best theological reflection happens on two wheels as she rides her bike around the hills of western Oregon.
See more articles by (177).
Please note that the editorial staff reserves the right to not post comments it deems to be inappropriate and/or malicious in nature, as well as edit comments for length, clarity and fairness.
  • Michael

    As a relatively new Catholic I have a deep appreciation of the tangible nature of the Church’s Sacraments, especially for the absolution that I hear pronounced in the Sacrament of Reconciliation. On the other hand, one of my more frequent prayers is for the blessing of a faith that is so strong that I would have no need for any tangible sign of God’s love for me or all of His creation.

powered by the Paulists